Fire of Man

There is a cold and dark fire within,
It burns, chars and maligns,
It curses and belies my sin,
It is the sin of masculinity to which I am aligned,
Through no fault or thought of my own I am guilty,
I must accept this very human frailty,
Regardless of how I conform or no,
To your senseless stereotyping of masculinity,
As a means to objectify and oppress femininity,
When so clearly one mask does not fit all,
I am not one type of man,
Nor you one type of woman,
Let us be as we are!

I share in the pain of my sisters and brothers,
A fire deep within us all expounds; and seeks warmth,
Which is the birthright of our fathers and mothers,
Beyond any cult or culture to dominate,
Or suffocate my voice, rejuvenated.
And so beautifully convoluted,
It sings amongst the plentiful and many,
A power ne’er to be feared, nor reviled;
So let the fire within burn bright,
For it is the passion of the soul in plain sight.
Yin and Yang are to plenty
A symbol to be utterly beguiled,
Illustrating a fascinating dance amongst the stars!

 

Leave a Reply

